Joseph Tawadros

Joseph Tawadros AM is a leading Oud virtuoso, composer and 8 time ARIA award winner.
Joseph was awarded the Member of the Order of Australia in 2016. Born in Cairo, he is currently living in London.


“Joseph Tawadros is one of the world’s leading oud performers and composers. A virtuoso of amazing diversity and sensitivity …

Full biography


‘To Those Who Came Before Us’, Joseph Tawadros’ 20th studio recording, sees him totally solo and in his element. Drawing upon the ancient music tradition of taqasim, it is an exquisite meditative hour-long improvisation in this tradition.


Album and concert reviews

‘Betrayal of a Sacred Sunflower’ “Here, the prolific and prodigious oud master takes yet another direction. Moving away from the pyrotechnical playing …”

Click for reviews


  1. Capoeira by the Nile 'World Music' 2016 2:25
  2. Gem "Truth Seekers, Lovers and Warriors' 2015 4:15
  3. Bluegrass Nikriz 'Permission to Evaporate' 2014 6:36
  4. Freo 'Chameleons of the White Shadow' 2013 6:23
  5. Seafarer 'Concerto of the Greater Sea' 2012 5:57
  6. Self Knowledge The Prophet (2009) 02:02
  7. Stranger Angel - Limited Edition (2008) 05:24
  8. Light Angel - Limited Edition (2008) 06:38
  9. Cafe Riche Epiphany (2007) 07:57
  10. Dahab Visions (2006) 02:41
  11. Cairo Rouhani (2005) 07:07
  12. Bab El Hadid Storyteller (2004) 05:03
  13. Hallucination on a String Storyteller 07:07
  14. Anubis Joseph Tawadros 3:42

Photo Gallery


NOTE: Click on video TITLES to play (not picture thumbnail)
Latest video: Concerto for Oud and Orchestra at Sydney Opera House, June 2019